Where was Jesus on the fifth day?

Posted: March 5, 2013 in false teachers, Islam, Jesus Christ
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Now this was asked by a Moslem as a trick question, which going by experience was normal for them?   Naturally as Christian we have a tendency to emphasise on the resurrection of Jesus and what took place in his humanity after his resurrection.

Now as we would obviously note that because Jesus had risen he would not be in the grave on the Fourth or fifth day.  The response from this Moslem was that Jesus could not be God because he was not in the grave.  Cheap shot at best and completely dumb.

Nevertheless it does raise a question which can be answered.  WHERE WAS JESUS DURING THOSE DAYS?  WE KNOW WHERE HIS BODY LAY BUT WHERE WAS THE REST OF HIM?

Had he had the honesty to ask the obvious relevant question he would probably have received the obvious answer that we shall now look at?

Now we have several references as to where Jesus was during this time.

(1)     Lk 23: 43 And Jesus said unto him, Verily I say unto thee, To day shalt thou be with me in Paradise.

(2)   1 Peter 3: 19 By which also he went and preached unto the spirits in prison

(3)   Mat 28: 20-Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, [even] unto the end of the world. Amen

(4)   Heb 9: 23 It was] therefore necessary that the patterns of things in the heavens should be purified with these; but the heavenly things themselves with better sacrifices than these. For Christ is not entered into the holy places made with hands, [which are] the figures of the true; but into heaven itself, now to appear in the presence of God for us:

Jesus made certain promises to his disciples that he would be with them always.  So even when his body lay in the grave, he was with them.  Although they did not see him physically he was nevertheless with them in spirit.  Therefore he had never left them.

We also know he went and preached to those who were held in prison.

1 Peter 3: 19- 20 By which also he went and preached unto the spirits in prison;  Which sometime were disobedient, when once the longsuffering of God waited in the days of Noah, while the ark was a preparing, wherein few, that is, eight souls were saved by water

Finally the promise to the repentant thief was the promise that he would be with Christ in paradise.     Christ did not leave to go elsewhere.

Jesus also took his own blood and entered into the holy place in heaven of which the holy of holies was a type, and offered his own blood for the ransom of many.

Now all these things took place simultaneously over the course of those days.  That means he is the omnipresent God, and fully capable of doing what needed to be done.

If Jesus needed to be with someone in the grave he most certainly could have.  Unlike allah who can’t.  Nevertheless we have another promise:

Mat 22: 32 I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob? God is not the God of the dead, but of the living.

As Jesus reminded us Math 28:20 he continues to remain with us both in life and in death.  Except in death we go to be with Christ

2 Cor 5: 8 We are confident, [I say], and willing rather to be absent from the body,present with the Lord

We hold to a covenant keeping God

Where does this confidence come from?

It comes from the Bible as we gain confidence in Gods ministerial ministry among his people.  The Bible is not so much about man finding God, But how Gods finds men.  The Bible is really all about how a perfect righteous holy God gets his hands dirty and reveals himself to those who follow him.   He gets involved in the lives of men and women who are not perfect, pure or saintly.  They all have history that would in some cases turn our heads at.  Murderers thieves adulterers, schemers, Harlots, and much much more.  It is the fact that God reaches out to these people that helps the rest of us as we all have history.    None of us come with a perfect record.  Yet God is bold enough gracious enough and loving enough to touch people’s lives.

For many and that includes Moslems they can’t understand this.  They don’t have a religion that sees individual Moslems meet with God.  Or if they do they will usually leaven Islam.

It comes from a deep personal experience of walking with him and seeing answers to life’s issues.   God remains a God who is very much a part of the lives of his people.

SO TO ANSWER THE ORIGIONAL QUESTION.?  HE WAS WHERE HE NEEDED TO BE.

For more information  on Jesus entitled 100 truths about Jesus

Comments
  1. Tracy Myers says:

    WHEN JESUS DIED ON THE CROSS HE DID GO TO PARADISE LIKE HE TOLD THE THIEF. HE PROCLAIMED THE GOSPELL TO THE ONES THAT WAS IN ABRAHAMS BOSSOM OR THE RIGHTEOUS BODE OF THE DEAD. THAT IS WHERE HE SPENT MOST OF HIS TIME THERE. BUT ALSO HE PROCLAIMED TO EITHER THE FALLEN SPIRITS WHICH WERE THE FALLEN ANGELES OR MAYBE THE ONES WHO REJECTED HIM IN THE TIME OF NOAH. AT ANY CASE THEY HAD NO CHANCE TO GO TO HEAVEN BECAUSE THEY HAD PLENTY OF TIME TO ACCEPT WHAT JESUS HAD SAID THROUGH NOAH. THE FALLEN ANGELS OR SPIRITS WHO INFLUENCED THEM WERE IN CHAINS. THIS PLACE WAS TARSUS. THERE IS NOT A SECOND CHANCE FOR ANY ONE ONCE THEY DIE. HADES IS MADE UP OF TWO COMPARTMENTS. THE PUNISHMENT SIDE WHERE THE RICH MAN WENT AND PARADISE WHERE LAZARDUS WENT. ABRAHAMS BOSSOM OR PARADISE. SHEOL IS THE GRAVE BUT ALSO IS TRANSLATED HADES IN NEW TESTIMATE. GEHENNA IS THE LAKE OF FIRE OR HELLWHERE THE BEAST ,FALSE PROPHET, AND ANTI CHRIST WILL WIND UP. JESUS DID NOT GO TO THE SUFFERING SIDE OF HELL BUT WENT TO PARADISE. HE ALSO DID NOT BECOME BORN AGAIN IN HELL BECAUSE HE WAS AND IS THE GOD MAN.

  2. jack says:

    po da losu

  3. YO BABE,

    You should have said that Allah provided BURAQ to carry Jesus to Heaven, just like Allah provided BURAQ to Muhammad to fly to Heaven!

    ROCKET MAN & HIS FLYING MACHINE

    Sahih Bukhari 5:58:227 “…Then a white animal which was smaller than a mule and bigger than a donkey was brought to me.” … “The animal’s step (was so wide that it) reached the farthest point within the reach of the animal’s sight. …”

    AIR MECCA

    COME FLY WITH US TO THE MOON & BACK, THE SAME DAY, ON OUR 1 HORSE-POWERED BURAQ, THE GREATEST FLYING MACHINE IN THE WORLD.

    WE MAKE NASA LOOK LIKE THE FLINTSTONES!

    Yabba-Dabba-Doo & AWAY SHE FLEW

    Al-Burāq (Arabic: البُراق‎ al-Burāq “lightning”) is a mythological steed, described as a creature from the heavens which transported the prophets. The most commonly told story is how in the 7th century, Al-Buraq carried the Islamic prophet Muhammad fromMecca to Jerusalem and back during the Isra and Mi’raj or “Night Journey”, which is the title of one of the chapters (sura), Al-Isra, of the Quran.

    THE JOURNEY TO 7TH HEAVEN

    The Night Journey took place 12 years after Mohammad became a prophet, during the 7th century

    MOHAMMED WITH UNLIMITED BURAQ HORSEPOWER

    It’s called a buraq, and the myth comes from the hadith, a supplement to the Koran.
    Sahih Bukhari Volume 5, Book 58, Hadith Number 227

    “I was brought by the Buraq, Which is an animal white and long, larger than a donkey but smaller than a mule, who would place its hoof at a distance equal to the range of vision.”

    OPEN HEART SURGERY, 1400 YEARS AGO

    The angel cut open Muhammad’s chest, took out his heart, and purified it with the holy water of the nearby Zam-zam well. The angel then restored the heart to Muhammad’s chest, leaving no wound. After this, the Buraq arrived. Muhammad mounted the beast, and in the company of Gabriel, they traveled to the “farthest mosque”. The location of this mosque was not explicitly stated, but is generally accepted to mean Jerusalem.
    At this location, Muhammad dismounted from the Buraq, prayed, and then once again mounted the Buraq and was taken to the various heavens, to meet Allah. Muhammad was instructed to tell his followers how many times per day that they were to offer prayers. The Buraq then transported Muhammad back to Mecca.
    Volume 5, Book 58, Number 227:
    Narrated Abbas bin Malik:
    Malik bin Sasaa said that Allah’s Apostle described to them his Night Journey saying, “While I was lying in Al-Hatim or Al-Hijr, suddenly someone came to me and cut my body open from here to here.” I asked Al-Jarud who was by my side, “What does he mean?” He said, “It means from his throat to his pubic area,” or said, “From the top of the chest.” The Prophet further said, “He then took out my heart. Then a gold tray of Belief was brought to me and my heart was washed and was filled (with Belief) and then returned to its original place. Then a white animal which was smaller than a mule and bigger than a donkey was brought to me.” (On this Al-Jarud asked, “Was it the Buraq, O Abu Hamza?” I (i.e. Anas) replied in the affirmative). The Prophet said, “The animal’s step (was so wide that it) reached the farthest point within the reach of the animal’s sight. I was carried on it, and Gabriel set out with me till we reached the nearest heaven.
    When he asked for the gate to be opened, it was asked, ‘Who is it?’ Gabriel answered, ‘Gabriel.’ It was asked, ‘Who is accompanying you?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Muhammad.’ It was asked, ‘Has Muhammad been called?’ Gabriel replied in the affirmative. Then it was said, ‘He is welcomed. What an excellent visit his is!’ The gate was opened, and when I went over the first heaven, I saw Adam there. Gabriel said (to me). ‘This is your father, Adam; pay him your greetings.’ So I greeted him and he returned the greeting to me and said, ‘You are welcomed, O pious son and pious Prophet.’ Then Gabriel ascended with me till we reached the second heaven. Gabriel asked for the gate to be opened. It was asked, ‘Who is it?’ Gabriel answered, ‘Gabriel.’ It was asked, ‘Who is accompanying you?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Muhammad.’ It was asked, ‘Has he been called?’ Gabriel answered in the affirmative. Then it was said, ‘He is welcomed. What an excellent visit his is!’ The gate was opened.

    When I went over the second heaven, there I saw Yahya (i.e. John) and ‘Isa (i.e. Jesus) who were cousins of each other. Gabriel said (to me), ‘These are John and Jesus; pay them your greetings.’ So I greeted them and both of them returned my greetings to me and said, ‘You are welcomed, O pious brother and pious Prophet.’ Then Gabriel ascended with me to the third heaven and asked for its gate to be opened. It was asked, ‘Who is it?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Gabriel.’ It was asked, ‘Who is accompanying you?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Muhammad.’ It was asked, ‘Has he been called?’ Gabriel replied in the affirmative. Then it was said, ‘He is welcomed, what an excellent visit his is!’ The gate was opened, and when I went over the third heaven there I saw Joseph. Gabriel said (to me), ‘This is Joseph; pay him your greetings.’ So I greeted him and he returned the greeting to me and said, ‘You are welcomed, O pious brother and pious Prophet.’ Then Gabriel ascended with me to the fourth heaven and asked for its gate to be opened. It was asked, ‘Who is it?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Gabriel’ It was asked, ‘Who is accompanying you?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Muhammad.’ It was asked, ‘Has he been called?’ Gabriel replied in the affirmative. Then it was said, ‘He is welcomed, what an excel lent visit his is!’

    The gate was opened, and when I went over the fourth heaven, there I saw Idris. Gabriel said (to me), ‘This is Idris; pay him your greetings.’ So I greeted him and he returned the greeting to me and said, ‘You are welcomed, O pious brother and pious Prophet.’ Then Gabriel ascended with me to the fifth heaven and asked for its gate to be opened. It was asked, ‘Who is it?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Gabriel.’ It was asked. ‘Who is accompanying you?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Muhammad.’ It was asked, ‘Has he been called?’ Gabriel replied in the affirmative. Then it was said He is welcomed, what an excellent visit his is! So when I went over the fifth heaven, there I saw Harun (i.e. Aaron), Gabriel said, (to me). This is Aaron; pay him your greetings.’ I greeted him and he returned the greeting to me and said, ‘You are welcomed, O pious brother and pious Prophet.’ Then Gabriel ascended with me to the sixth heaven and asked for its gate to be opened. It was asked. ‘Who is it?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Gabriel.’ It was asked, ‘Who is accompanying you?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Muhammad.’ It was asked, ‘Has he been called?’ Gabriel replied in the affirmative. It was said, ‘He is welcomed. What an excellent visit his is!’

    When I went (over the sixth heaven), there I saw Moses. Gabriel said (to me),’ This is Moses; pay him your greeting. So I greeted him and he returned the greetings to me and said, ‘You are welcomed, O pious brother and pious Prophet.’ When I left him (i.e. Moses) he wept. Someone asked him, ‘What makes you weep?’ Moses said, ‘I weep because after me there has been sent (as Prophet) a young man whose followers will enter Paradise in greater numbers than my followers.’ Then Gabriel ascended with me to the seventh heaven and asked for its gate to be opened. It was asked, ‘Who is it?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Gabriel.’ It was asked,’ Who is accompanying you?’ Gabriel replied, ‘Muhammad.’ It was asked, ‘Has he been called?’ Gabriel replied in the affirmative. Then it was said, ‘He is welcomed. What an excellent visit his is!’

    So when I went (over the seventh heaven), there I saw Abraham. Gabriel said (to me), ‘This is your father; pay your greetings to him.’ So I greeted him and he returned the greetings to me and said, ‘You are welcomed, O pious son and pious Prophet.’ Then I was made to ascend to Sidrat-ul-Muntaha (i.e. the Lote Tree of the utmost boundary) Behold! Its fruits were like the jars of Hajr (i.e. a place near Medina) and its leaves were as big as the ears of elephants. Gabriel said, ‘This is the Lote Tree of the utmost boundary) . Behold ! There ran four rivers, two were hidden and two were visible, I asked, ‘What are these two kinds of rivers, O Gabriel?’ He replied,’ As for the hidden rivers, they are two rivers in Paradise and the visible rivers are the Nile and the Euphrates.’

    Then Al-Bait-ul-Ma’mur (i.e. the Sacred House) was shown to me and a container full of wine and another full of milk and a third full of honey were brought to me. I took the milk. Gabriel remarked, ‘This is the Islamic religion which you and your followers are following.’ Then the prayers were enjoined on me: They were fifty prayers a day. When I returned, I passed by Moses who asked (me), ‘What have you been ordered to do?’ I replied, ‘I have been ordered to offer fifty prayers a day.’ Moses said, ‘Your followers cannot bear fifty prayers a day, and by Allah, I have tested people before you, and I have tried my level best with Bani Israel (in vain). Go back to your Lord and ask for reduction to lessen your followers’ burden.’ So I went back, and Allah reduced ten prayers for me. Then again I came to Moses, but he repeated the same as he had said before. Then again I went back to Allah and He reduced ten more prayers. When I came back to Moses he said the same, I went back to Allah and He ordered me to observe ten prayers a day. When I came back to Moses, he repeated the same advice, so I went back to Allah and was ordered to observe five prayers a day.

    When I came back to Moses, he said, ‘What have you been ordered?’ I replied, ‘I have been ordered to observe five prayers a day.’ He said, ‘Your followers cannot bear five prayers a day, and no doubt, I have got an experience of the people before you, and I have tried my level best with Bani Israel, so go back to your Lord and ask for reduction to lessen your follower’s burden.’ I said, ‘I have requested so much of my Lord that I feel ashamed, but I am satisfied now and surrender to Allah’s Order.’ When I left, I heard a voice saying, ‘I have passed My Order and have lessened the burden of My Worshipers.”

    BUKHARI
    Volume 5, Book 58, Number 228:
    Narrated Ibn ‘Abbas:
    Regarding the Statement of Allah”
    “And We granted the vision (Ascension to the heavens) which We made you see (as an actual eye witness) was only made as a trial for the people.” (17.60)
    Ibn Abbas added: The sights which Allah’s Apostle was shown on the Night Journey when he was taken to Bait-ulMaqdis (i.e. Jerusalem) were actual sights, (not dreams). And the Cursed Tree (mentioned) in the Quran is the tree of Zaqqum (itself) .

    You have to feel for people in countries that don’t have a good infrastructure. No bus routes or train lines, no underground subway. I sometimes think back to when I had to cycle eight miles a day to get to and from work. I am so grateful that I now have a car.
    Back in the 7th Century, travel was much more of an issue, but thankfully there was one special way to get about in no time at all. This form of travel didn’t have alloy wheels and carbon brakes, a large exhaust pipe and a turbocharger engine. Nor did it have a v12 engine with 2000hp. This was a completely different kind of horsepower.
    It was a flying horse.

    That’s right. A horse that could fly. It’s a popular story for Muslims. They tell the tale of how 12 years after becoming a prophet, Muhammad had a lot of travelling to do. He had been in his home city, Mecca, visiting his cousin when Buraq appeared (with an angel). Muhammad saddled up and flew on it to Jerusalem, which is about 766 miles. He got down, said a prayer and then they were off again, apparently to visit the various heavens.
    Now that’s fast. 766 miles in one night, on a horse. Then back.

    Buraq also appeared to Abraham who made regular use of such a magnificent beast. He lived in Syria with one of his wives but would often travel via super-horse to Mecca in order to visit his other wife, Hagar, and his son Ishmael. After a nice meal and a catch up, Buraq would take him back in the evening.

    Muhammad, by the way, was apparently instructed at this time that people should pray 50 times a day to God. No wonder! With travel being so convenient, you’d have time to pray 50 times a day!

    Muhammad’s claims to Jerusalem is a Myth

    Strange as it may seem, there are many myths that continue to be perpetuated today as fact when they are clearly myths. As there are people who consider what I have posted unsuitable for adult reading I will attempt once more from a different slant. Muslims claim rights to Jerusalem because they claim that Muhammad set foot in Jerusalem, but this could not have happened because:

    “Where does Islam’s claim to Jerusalem come from? Where did it all start?

    “Muhammad’s ‘night’-journey (isra) to ‘the farthest mosque’ (al-masjid al-aqsa)”
    [The Isra and Mi’raj (Arabic: الإسراء والمعراج‎, transl. al-ʾIsrāʾ wa l-Miʿrāğ), are the two parts of a Night Journey that, according to Islamic tradition, the Islamic prophet Muhammad took during a single night around the year 621. It has been described as both a physical and spiritual journey.

    The Isra begins with Muhammad praying in the Kaaba in Mecca, when the archangel Jibral (Gabriel) comes to him, and brings him the steed Buraq, the traditional “heavenly steed” of the prophets. Buraq carries Muhammad to the Masjid Al Aqsa the “Farthest Mosque”, which Muslims believe is “the Al Aqsa mosque in Jerusalem.”

    ( If you can believe that a flying horse could transport a man from Mecca to Jerusalem and back in one night then anything is possible. This mosque did not exist before Muhammad’s death. The distance between Mecca and Jerusalem is 755.1 miles. To complete this feat in one night would have meant that Buraq must have been jet propelled in the 7th Century. Hence it’s a myth.)

    Muhammad alights, tethers Buraq to the Western Wall and leads other prophets including Adem (Adam), Musa (Moses), and `Īsā (Jesus) in prayer. In the second part of the journey, the Mi’raj (an Arabic word that literally means “ladder”), Buraq takes him to the heavens, where he tours the circles of heaven, and speaks with the earlier prophets such as Abraham, Moses, and Jesus. He is then taken by the angel Jibril to meet God.

    This interpretation was advanced even by the earliest biographer of Muhammad—Ibn Ishaq—and is supported by numerous aḥādīth. The term used for mosque, “masjid”, literally means “place of prostration”, and includes monotheistic places of worship but does not exclusively lend itself to physical structures but a location, as the prophet Muhammad stated ‘the earth has been made a masjid for me and my followers…’ (bukhari volume 1, Book 7, Number 331).

    When Caliph Umar conquered Jerusalem after Muhammad’s death, a prayer house was built on the site. The structure was expanded by the Ummayad caliph Abd al-Malik ibn Marwan and finished by his son al-Walid in 705 CE. The building was repeatedly destroyed by earthquakes and rebuilt, until the reconstruction in 1033 by the Fatimid caliph Ali az-Zahir, and that version of the structure is what can be seen in the present day.

    Many Western historians, such as Heribert Busse and Neal Robinson, agree that Jerusalem is the originally intended interpretation of the Qu’ran. Muslims used to pray towards Jerusalem, but Muhammad changed this direction, the Qibla, to instead direct Muslims to face towards the Kaaba in Mecca on the basis of having received divine intervention.]

    Jerusalem is never mentioned by name in the Qur’an, being mentioned 823 times in the Bible, and Zion (which usually means Jerusalem, and sometimes ‘the Land of Israel’), appears 161 times.
    Of the 823 mentions of Jerusalem by name in the Bible, 669 of them are in the Old Testament, and 154 times in the New Testament.

    The Qur’an refers to Muhammad’s “night journey” (isra) as follows:-
    “Glory to (Allah) Who did take His servant for a journey by night from the Sacred Mosque to the farthest mosque……………………(Subhana allathee asra biAAbdihi laylan mina almasjidi alharami ila almasjidi al-aqsa allathee barakna hawlahu linuriyahu min ayatina innahu huwa alssameeAAalbaseeruu)
    Surah 17:001

    When this Surah was revealed ~621 AD, the Sacred Mosque already existed in Mecca, but where was “the farthest mosque?” It was apparently identified with places inside Arabia; either Medina, or a town called Ji’rana, about ten miles from Mecca, which Muhammad visited in 630 AD.
    Palestine had not yet been conquered by Muslim armies, and contained not a single mosque. “

    Obviously, those who believe in Muhammad’s claim to have traveled to Jerusalem either in body or in spirit rely on blind faith rather than common sense. Even if he had never traveled there before, it is highly unlikely that he could not have heard descriptions of the city from others who had, particularly since he was known to seek out story tellers on his business trips.

    There is simply no compelling reason to believe that Muhammad’s dream was anything other than that.

Leave a Reply

