Ps 119: 105 Thy word [is] a lamp unto my feet, and a lightunto my path

The light had dawned.

Years ago when I was a teenager the Gideons came to my school.  During assembly they gave a quick talk and handed out these little red cover backed King James New Testament Bibles.  Whilst many of the kids joked about burning them, I found in my hand something which I treasured.    Now I was not a Christian at that time, but I would from time to time read the word.  But whilst I could read the words I never really understood the message.  Years later I started work.  The production manager was a Christian who would chat to his staff about Christianity.  This prompted me to take out that little King James and occasionally  I read it.  Now I could read the words, but the message was as ever hidden as it had always been.  The mystery of its message was lost.  It remained just another book.  Now this Christian invited me to his church.  I knew what was going to be asked and I talked it over with the Lord the night before.  I was going to say YES to receive him as Lord and saviour.    I remember that the previous day reading my Bible and the message was only darkness to my understanding.

The day after having received Jesus as Lord and saviour, I opened that same little King James Bible.  Something had dramatically changed.  Suddenly the words became alive.  They literally jumped out of the page with meaning and understanding.  So what had changed from one day to the next?  There can be no doubt that I had indeed received God into my life.    I still had to read the Bible and study it, but the insight was illuminating.  Someone was now interpreting that word to my heart and mind.  No longer was I looking at mere words, the words now had meaning depth and life.

It was as if someone had literally walked into a dark room and flicked the switched.  The room became bathed in light.    The Holy Spirit brought that light into my soul and was now feeding my mind with the truths contained in the Bible.  From there God started to make all those little connection between all those chapters.  The Bible works folks.    It makes sense from cover to cover.   Now you can never say you know it all because that same Holy Spirit is still revealing his word.   But I can say that what I hold in my hand was treasure indeed.

Leave a Reply

