The Importance of Knowing the True Identity of Christ

Posted: August 15, 2011 in Jesus Christ

John 8:19, 21, 24
19.  Then said they unto him, Where is thy Father? Jesus answered, Ye neither know me, nor my Father: if ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also.
21.  Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come.
24.  I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

It is absolutely essential that we understand the true identity of Christ, if we want to be saved.  Jesus Himself said, “…if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.”

I. Introduction
A. An urgent warning
John 8:24
I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.
B. If we do not believe that Jesus is the “I AM”, we will die in our sins.
C. To whom was Jesus referring as the “I AM”?  To the God of the Old Testament, the Lord Jehovah (Adonai).
Isaiah 43:10  Ye are my witnesses, saith the Lord, and my servant whom I have chosen: that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I am he: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me.
Exodus 3:14  And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.

II. The one true God
A. Israel only recognized one God
Deuteronomy 6:4  Hear, O Israel: the Lord our God is one Lord:
B. No God beside the Lord
Isaiah 45:5-6
5.  I am the Lord, and there is none else, there is no God beside me: I girded thee, though thou hast not known me:
6.  That they may know from the rising of the sun, and from the west, that there is none beside me. I am the Lord, and there is none else.
C. One God
I Timothy 2:5 For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;

D. Jesus is the true God
I John 5:20 And we know that the Son of God is come, and hath given us an understanding, that we may know him that is true, and we are in him that is true, even in his Son Jesus Christ. This is the true God, and eternal life.

III. Jehovah of the Old Testament is Jesus of the New Testament
A. Jesus: “Jehovah Savior”, or “Jehovah has come to be our salvation”
B. Emmanuel: “God with us”
Matthew 1:23
Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.
C. The Lord Jehovah is the Creator
Isaiah 44:24 Thus saith the Lord, thy redeemer, and he that formed thee from the womb, I am the Lord that maketh all things; that stretcheth forth the heavens alone; that spreadeth abroad the earth by myself;
Isaiah 45:18 For thus saith the Lord that created the heavens; God himself that formed the earth and made it; he hath established it, he created it not in vain, he formed it to be inhabited: I am the Lord; and there is none else.
D. Jesus is the Creator
John 1:10 He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not.
E. Every knee shall bow to the Lord Jehovah
Isaiah 45:22-23 22.  Look unto me, and be ye saved, all the ends of the earth: for I am God, and there is none else.
23.  I have sworn by myself, the word is gone out of my mouth in righteousness, and shall not return, that unto me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear.
F. Every knee shall bow to the Lord Jesus

Philippians 2:10-11

10.  That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth;
11.  And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

IV. Jesus is identified as the Father
A. The Everlasting Father
Isaiah 9:6 For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counseller, The mighty God, the everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

B. One with the Father
John 10:30  I and my Father are one.
C. He who has seen Jesus has seen the Father
John 14:6-10 6.  Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.
7.  If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him.

8.  Philip saith unto him, Lord, shew us the Father, and it sufficeth us.
9.  Jesus saith unto him, have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Shew us the Father?
10.  Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works.
D. There is only one Father
Ephesians 4:6 One God and Father of all, who is above all, and through all, and in you all.

V. Jesus is identified as the Son
A. Dual nature: humanity (Son), and Spirit (God)
B. A Son is given to us

Isaiah 9:6 For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counseller, The mighty God, the everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.
C. The Son of God
Mark 1:1  The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ, the Son of God;
D. A son named Jesus
Matthew 1:21 And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name JESUS: for he shall save his people from their sins.

VI. Jesus is identified as the Spirit
A. There is only one Spirit
Ephesians 4:4 There is one body, and one Spirit, even as ye are called in one hope of your calling;
B. Jesus is Lord
Philippians 2:10-11

10.  That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth;
11.  And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.
C. There is only one Lord
Ephesians 4:5
One Lord, one faith, one baptism,
D. The Lord (Jesus) is the Spirit
II Corinthians 3:17
Now the Lord is that Spirit: and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.
E. The “Spirit of Christ”
Romans 8:9 But ye are not in the flesh, but in the Spirit, if so be that the Spirit of God dwell in you. Now if any man have not the Spirit of Christ, he is none of his.
F. The Spirit of Jesus Christ
Philippians 1:19 For I know that this shall turn to my salvation through your prayer, and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ,

VII. Conclusion
A. If we do not understand the true identity of Christ, we cannot benefit fully from His sacrifice on Calvary
B. Without the true knowledge of Him, we will die in our sins (John 8:24), because remission of sins comes through His name
Acts 10:43
To him give all the prophets witness, that through his name whosoever believeth in him shall receive remission of sins.

Leave a Reply

