TO FEAR NO EVIL

Posted: September 24, 2010 in Suffering/ sickness
Tags: , , ,

Have you ever been in a place that is almost a divine accounter?  In this I can’t say it was or not.  I went for a renal clinic at my local hospital, so the doctors could check my bloods and to see how I was doing.  A few hours later I had a call from the hospital.  They were concerned about a chemical problem.  I had to rush back so they could take another test.  Well I went not realising that I might be admitted.  That night they decided to keep me in for observation.  There was I in a ward of three other men.  I have never been kept in a hospital since I was ten years old.  Then it was my tonsils.  I was prodded and pocked, and more blood was taken.  To the left of my bed was another Christian.  In front of me was a Moslem.  Across was and older gentleman.  They were all there because they were in dialysis.

The Moslem over the course of the day prayed three times and read his Koran.  The sad part here was that he had to cope with the fact of being told by the doctors that his kidneys were gone and he faced a future on dialysis.  His family and friends came and went and the news was not good.  For each of them he has to tell them just how ill he was.  The sad thing was I could not see any hope in his eyes that said anything that would have attracted me to his religion.

The Christian who I also saw reading a book and his phone had a song which I readily recognised.  He had been on dialysis a lot longer.  His joy and enthusiasm was remarkable and I felt almost humbled by the fact that he had come to embrace and work around his disability.  He had travelled to many places and found that where he went he was able to get dialysis.  His disability did not stop him but he worked around it.  In so doing he was a man that did not give up.  He had truly overcome his disability and refuse to allow it to dominate him.

He readily encouraged everyone around him.  I have to say I was blessed.

I found it strange that here I was in ward with a Moslem in front of me and a Christian to the side of me.  In many ways I could relate to both in their illness.  For the Moslem had diabetes and so have I, although not as serious as his?  The interesting thing was I had a complete peace on the whole matter.  I knew God had his purpose in it and he would work it to his glory.  Sometimes we fear the unknown, but with God there is no unknown.  In this I had no fear but a peaceful comfort and surrender to whatever God wanted to do.

There is a hope and courage in the face of the man that knows his God.  He can rest in complete confidence in health or sickness that God will get glory.  No wonder The psalmist could say “even though I walked through the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil” For the Christian there is are shadows but there is also the realisation and hope of what lies beyond the shadows and the valleys.  My arm may fail and the flesh we may lay down but in Christ what was sown in death will be raised up in GLORY.

True Biblical faith is prepared to trust in his God  even when there are no answers.  Biblical faith is not self seeking, manipulative, or grasping.  True Biblical faith is the willingness to take the power of me and place it into the hands of the one who knows our needs.  Biblical faith is prepared to surrender to the claims of his God.  Biblical faith acknowledges the truth of Gods word and even when he does not always understands it he will say amen to it.

Leave a Reply

